Our Faultless Stars

The Fault in Our Stars. Pardon me, but is this a movie or an onion?!
After watching the movie, for one moment I actually thought I turned into the lung cancer-inflicted Hazel Grace… I had a hard time breathing! And I felt as if I lost my will to do so… Better yet, despite the grudge and grievance that uncontrollably welled up inside me,I have come to conclusion that I love TFiOS. As the saying goes, “The more you hate, the more you love”, right? Right.
One of the many reasons why I love it is because it prodded me to take notice of and appreciate the things that I might have been taking frivolously, namely: my health, time, loved ones and my life. I don’t know why, but somehow along the way, we tend to take things for granted once they grow abundant. Maybe it’s innate in our subconscious or perhaps it is simply human nature? I am quite uncertain.
Also, it is surprising how it’s a film dedicated to people who are bound to close their eyes for the last time yet it’s incredibly eye-opening. (Hmm, I bet ‘irony’ is its middle name!)
TFiOS lectures that it’s not a requirement to have the best of everything or abundantly of something in order for us to get the best out of life and that we don’t have to live a hundred years for us to actually be able to live life. Because if two cancer patients can have the bliss of forever in merely a few days despite being deprived of the abundance of it,thus being the last people to likely do so, what bars us from grabbing hold of the very same opportunity?
“We are infinitely more than our limitations or our afflictions”, a quote by Jeffrey Holland. Please embed that in your heart and mind. Because we truly are; we were born that way. Every bit of limb,flesh,atoms and will that we’re made of are designed to overcome afflictions,insecurities, limitations and a lot more. We could be more, only if we allow ourselves.
As William Shakespeare said, “The fault is not in our stars but in ourselves” With that said,may we stop finding faults in our life, our fate and everything that they beget because they are found blameless! Do you think it’s right to just enter a room and suddenly complain about its design, structure and furniture? Because that’s the same thing about us and the world we’re in. We don’t get to chose what we’re rendered but what we do get to chose is what we do with it.

Busy yourself in finding the magnificence and beauty in the stars until you won’t have the time to waste finding the faults in them because those faults are fictitious.
Okay? Okay.

2 thoughts on “Our Faultless Stars

  1. I read the book a few years ago and enjoyed it for its honesty and clarity in showing us the everyday possibility of stepping out into infinite space .I believe the what keeps us from the book and movie’s lesson of little and large infinities is the way we place our happiness in the future and in our perceptions of perfection in other people, things, experiences, and activities. We have to have everyday thankfulness for the joy of the present moment. Gratitude creates Forevers.

    This statement of yours stood out for me ”it’s not a requirement to have the best of everything or abundantly of something in order for us to get the best out of life”

    May we realize everyday that we can always have the best out of life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a very great insight, Josh. Thank you! 🙂
      Indeed, it’s all about where we let our happiness depend upon. Happiness and the disputable idea of ‘forever’ are a choice; a choice that we must constantly make. And by “constant”, I mean every second of our life.

      Like

Leave a comment